28 June 2011
The Google+1 button is a way for you to share information publicly with the world. The Google+1 button helps you and others receive personalised content from Google and our partners. The fact that you +1'd something will be recorded by Google, along with information about the page that you were viewing when you clicked the +1 button. Your +1's may appear to others as an annotation with your profile name and photo in Google services (such as in search results or on your Google Profile) or elsewhere on websites and ads on the Internet.
We will record information about your +1 activity in order to provide you and other users with a better experience on Google services.
In order to use the Google+1 button, you need to have a public Google Profile visible to the world, which at the very least includes the name that you chose for the profile. That name will be used across Google services and in some cases it may replace another name that you've used when sharing content under your Google Account. We may display your Google Profile identity to people who have your email address or other identifying information.
We may share aggregate statistics relating to users' +1 activity with the public, our users and partners, such as publishers, advertisers or connected sites. For example, we may tell a publisher that "10% of the people who +1'd this page are in Tacoma, Washington".
You may view the list of items that you have +1'd on the +1 tab on your Profile. You can remove individual items from that list.
You may opt out of seeing +1 recommendations on third-party websites (including on ads on third-party sites) from people who you know.
We will store data (such as your recent +1's) locally in your browser. You may be able to access and clear this information in your browser settings.
Google adheres to the US Safe Harbour privacy principles. For more information about the Safe Harbour framework or our registration, see the Department of Commerce's website.