Add to my Google Calendar | Learn about Google Calendar

Natural Resources Section Meeting

On April 13, 2010, the Natural Resources Section (NRS) will hold its monthly brown bag lunch meeting from noon to 1pm at the HSBA Conference room (located on the 10th floor of Alakea Corporate Tower, 1100 Alakea Street). NRS will host guest speakers Denise Antolini, Lee Sichter, David Arakawa, and Robert Harris, members of the SB2818 Working Group. They will present: "An UPdate on the Legislature's Review of Hawaii's Environmental Review System."

Professor of Law Denise Antolini joined the faculty of the William S. Richardson School of Law, University of Hawaii at Manoa, in 1996. She is the Director of the Environmental Law Program. Prior to joining the faculty, she practiced public interest environmental law with Sierra Club Legal Defense Fund (now Earthjustice) in Seattle and Honolulu. She served as a law clerk for two years to Judge Joyce Hens Green, Federal District Court of the District of Columbia. She served as the Fulbright Distinguished Chair of Environmental Studies in Torino, Italy in 2003-04. She received the UH Regents Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2006. She is 2010 Chair of the Association of American Law School’s Environmental Law Section, former chair of the State of Hawaii Environmental Council (2004-06), the inaugural chair and a member of the City and County of Honolulu’s Clean Water and Natural Lands Commission (2008-present), former member of the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Environmental Law (2005-08), a founding and current board member of the North Shore Community Land Trust, and a founding and current board member of Mālama Pūpūkea-Waimea. Her areas of research and scholarship include common law environmental remedies, marine protected areas, public trust, water law, environmental review processes and governance, and Italian environmental law. She is a co-principal investigator, with lead PI Karl Kim and co-PI Peter Rappa, on the University of Hawaii’s Environmental Review Study ( and a member of the Legislature’s SB2818 Working Group (2010 Session).

Lee Sichter is a Principal Planner with Belt Collins Hawaii. He joined the firm in 1987 after serving as the planning advisor to the Chair of the Honolulu City Council, the Honorable Patsy T. Mink. He also has several years of experience working in government agencies,
including the former State Department of Planning and Economic Development, the Hawaii Housing Authority, the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands, and the former City departments of General Planning and Land Utilization. He is a regular guest lecturer at the University of Hawai`i at Manoa, where he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in
Political Science and a Masters in Urban and Regional Planning. His lectures at UH include the subjects of land use entitlement in Hawai`i, hotel development, and collaborative planning. He has personally authored seven environmental impact statements, co-authored
another five, and has written too many environmental assessments to count. Finally, he has been tracking the UH Study on Chapter 343 for the past two years on behalf of the Hawaii Chapter of the American Planning Association.

David Arakawa is the Executive Director of the Land Use Research Foundation of Hawaii (LURF). LURF is a statewide, private, non-profit research and trade association. Established in 1979, LURF promotes and advances the interests of the development community, particularly in the areas of land use laws and regulations. LURF is a member of the working group established by the Senate Committees on Energy and Environment and Water, Land, Agriculture, and Hawaiian Affairs to provide recommendations to the legislature on reforms to Hawaii's environmental review process.

Robert D. Harris is the Director of the Sierra Club, Hawai`i Chapter and a current board member of the Hawaii State Bar Association. Previously he practiced at Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert and clerked with the Honorable Justice Simeon Acoba, Jr. He is a past Chair of the Natural Resources Section of the Bar.

Tue Apr 13, 2010
Noon - 1pm - HSBA Conference Room (map)