November 1, 2011 (view archived versions)
Information we collect and how we use it
We will record information about your activity - such as posts you comment on and the other users with whom you interact - in order to provide you and other users with a better experience on Google services.
We may also collect information about you from other users, such as when someone puts you in one of their circles or tags you in a photo. Some users may choose to display information about you publicly, such as by displaying your public profile name and photo on their Google Profile in a list of people they’ve added to their circles.
In order to use Google+, you need to have a public Google Profile visible to the world, which at a minimum includes the name you chose for the profile. That name will be used across Google services and in some cases it may replace another name you’ve used when sharing content under your Google Account. We may display your Google Profile identity to people who have your email address or other identifying information.
Posts and other content shared by or with you - such as photos of you - may be visible on your profile to those with whom that content has been shared. You can use the profile editor to see how your profile appears to particular individuals.
You can add people into different circles to share information with a group. People in your circles (but not the name of the circle) will appear to others on your Google Profile, unless you choose not to display that information. You can manage the people in your circles here.
You can also add Google+ Pages to your circles. When you add a Google+ Page to your circles, the Google+ Page may add you to its circles and share content with you.
Photos and Videos.
Notifications may be sent to you or to other people when you take certain actions in Google+, such as adding people to a circle, starting a hangout or tagging someone in a photo.
When using Google+ on your mobile device, Google collects your location to provide the service (such as to display nearby posts to you), as described when you sign up for the mobile version of the product. When you post content to Google+ from your mobile device, you may opt out of the collection and display of your location on a per-post basis or choose to exclude your location from all of your posts. When posting from a non-mobile device, you can choose to add your location on a per-post basis.
We may display posts to which you’ve attached your location to users who seek to view Google+ posts "nearby" the location where you created your post. Those posts will be viewable only by those with whom the content has been shared.
+1 Button and Personalization off Google.
Uses of the collected information
We may share aggregate statistics about Google+ activity with the public, our users, and partners, such as publishers, app developers, or connected .
Your Choices in addition to those described above
You can access and edit your account settings - including privacy settings - through Account Settings or from the upper-righthand corner when you are logged into certain Google products. Among other things, in Account Settings you can change the settings for notifications we send to you.
You can choose to whom you send items in Google+. All recipients of a post may be able to see some information about the other people who have received it. Participants added to a group conversation may be able to see the history of that conversation (including participants added to group conversations in the mobile Messenger feature). Also, be aware that when you share something through Google+, anyone who received it may share it with others.
After someone tags you in a shared photo or video, you may choose to remove the tag.
Third Party Apps.
You may choose to access Google+ through third-party applications (e.g. non-Google websites) by authorizing these applications to access all or part of your Google Account via the Access Request page. The developer of the application may have access to your email address and to the content you have access to in Google+ (such as content friends have shared with you). The developer may also request additional information from you, such as your location for mobile features of Google+. You can revoke the developer's access to your Google Account at any time by visiting this settings page.
App providers (such as game providers) may send you notifications directly. You will need to contact the app provider to change the type and frequency of notifications they send to you.
If your use apps, those applications may gain access to content and information about you that those friends can access.
Local storage on your device.
We will store data (such as your recent posts) locally in your browser. You may be able to access and clear this information in your browser settings.
Google adheres to the U.S. Safe Harbor privacy principles. For more information about the Safe Harbor framework or our registration, see the Department of Commerce's web site.