Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/10/2016 10:21:57 PM EDT
I recently discovered the J Pole antenna. I've never used one but I'm thinking that it'll make for a pretty simple mobile base antenna for my 2m/70cm Yaesu.

Anyone ever use one?
Link Posted: 2/10/2016 10:24:06 PM EDT
[#1]
I have one I used to use.  Someone on here recommended it.  Basically very simple.  I was in a rental and couldn't go sticking up big antennas, so I just stuck this in the ground in the yard, and ran a 2m off of it.  Actually worked very well.

I am far from an expert so I'll let the more knowledgeable folks chime in.

My setup was very much like this, but was just stuck into the ground.

Link Posted: 2/10/2016 10:36:47 PM EDT
[#2]
I use one.

It does what I need done.

I have a commercially made Arrow J-Pole. It is very light weight, has very little wind load.
Link Posted: 2/10/2016 11:14:00 PM EDT
[#3]
I built a "copper cactus" J-pole back when I was on VHF. Rugged and worked very well. The gain is about the same as a quarter wave ground plane antenna.

A practical construction article will give you a better idea of what you'll be dealing with: http://www.n7qvc.com/copper-cactus-dual-band-super-j-pole-antenna-project/
Link Posted: 2/10/2016 11:20:00 PM EDT
[#4]

I'm using an Arrow J pole. I also have one of Ed Fong's DBJ-1 that I use out at the camper and also as a backup encom antenna.
Both I would have no problems at all recommending.
Link Posted: 2/10/2016 11:22:14 PM EDT
[#5]
Yes I built one and use it for 2m. Works really
great.
Link Posted: 2/10/2016 11:39:29 PM EDT
[#6]
I've been using them for decades, all home brew and very easy to build.
Link Posted: 2/11/2016 12:45:28 AM EDT
[#7]
I have the B-Square Engineering 2m/70cm stainless J-pole.

Works well!
Link Posted: 2/11/2016 1:06:00 AM EDT
[#8]